Music, You’ve Got the Love

Sometimes when it comes to music, I get into a rut. I have a handful of artists/bands that I listen to more than just a couple songs, these are the ones I would consider my favourites. I buy album after album by them, and enjoy them fully, and sometimes I listen to nothing but that album for months at a time (hello, You I Wind Land and Sea by Justin Nozuka!) Some of the artists that I listen to are purely from nostalgia and my love for them will likely never end, and others are because as my tastes in music changes, they seem to move in the direction I’m moving.

Then there are a lot of songs by so many different artists and bands that I listen to, that it makes it sound like I listen to all of the work these artists make, when in reality it’s just a few songs…maybe. I don’t listen to the radio too often, mostly because what’s playing isn’t really my vibe, or I just can’t be bothered to turn it on. There is the occasional song that I’ll hear on the radio that will get me going, and it’s usually a fun upbeat one, but a lot of what I have been listening to has been singer/songwriter stuff, though scrolling through my iPhone’s music will show you that my tastes are so all over the place.

Last week I was really feeling like I needed to add some new pieces to my lineup. Some of the music I found have been out for several years, and I know I’m a bit late to the party. I’m sure that when some of them came out, my taste at the time would have hated them, or I wouldn’t even give them a second thought. That’s the beauty of music though, that it doesn’t matter when it came out, it’s out there for you to enjoy at anytime and let it speak to you.

So, in search for new music, I took inspiration from some of my favourite shows that I really noticed some of the music playing in the background. Mostly this round was taken from Veronica Mars and Gossip Girl, because both have some phenomenal soundtracks, and so much music to pull from. Other songs just came from lurking around spotify, or ‘re-finding’ a song that has been played on the radio. My next search for more music will probably come more television shows and even movies, but also from my friends too. So if you have any suggestions for me, send them my way!

In return, I will share some of my favourite finds from this past search.

You’ve Got the Love by Florence + The Machine
I Hear the Bells by Mike Doughty
Can’t Stop the Feeling by Justin Timberlake
Bitch by Plastiscines [Explicit]
The One You Say Goodnight To by Kina Grannis
Stick Up by MAX
Send My Love (To Your New Lover) by Adele
I Can Feel a Hot One by Manchester Ochestra
Counting Stars by OneRepublic
Work from Home by Fifth Harmony feat. Ty Dolla $ign
Jealous (I Ain’t With It) by Chromeo
i hate u, i love you by gnash feat. olivia o’brien [Explicit]
Animal by Neon Trees
I Know I Know I Know by Tegan and Sara
The Ice is Getting Thinner by Death Cab for Cutie
Shove It by Santigold feat. Spank Rock
I Summon You by Spoon
Can’t Blame a Girl for Trying by Sabrina Carpenter

Leave a Reply

