A love letter to Halifax, Nova Scotia

When I was a kid, I used to hate my city, I used to hate Halifax. I felt like there was nothing here for me and I would dream about the day that I could leave it all behind and find adventures elsewhere. I still have dreams to eventually leave and see the world, but my feelings about Halifax have changed quite a lot. I look forward to returning home when I leave because I love this city, I love the people here, I love it’s unique qualities. It’s a little big city with so much character and personality and it seems that almost everyone knows someone who knows someone. It’s very rare that I don’t run into someone I know every time I’m in the city. I guess that’s what happens when you work in the downtown core making sandwiches for so many people for five years.

I went through my archives of photos that I have taken over the last couple years, and found some of my favourite shots that I have taken while I was wandering the city. I hope to continue to photograph my city as it grows, changes and fills with new things to love. With the addition of the Halifax Central Library on Spring Garden, or sitting with an ice cream on the waterfront, there is something here for everyone.

So here’s a collection of photos that shows my love for this city, my city, and beyond.

IMG_0186
Halifax Clock Tower

IMG_0175
Halifax Clock Tower

IMG_2378
Barrington Street

IMG_2380
Barrington Street

IMG_2421
Historic Properties

IMG_2431
Halifax Ferry Terminal

IMG_2445
Halifax Waterfront

IMG_4546
Halifax Waterfront

IMG_0821
Halifax Waterfront

IMG_1674 copy
Nova Scotia Power Building

IMG_4553
Strange Adventures Comic Shop

IMG_8098 copy
Johnny K’s Authentic Donairs

IMG_4624
Spring Garden

IMG_8091
Halifax Central Library

IMG_8095
Halifax Central Library

IMG_8085
Halifax Central Library

IMG_8089
Halifax Central Library

IMG_2527
Halifax Harbour

IMG_0117
Halifax Harbour

IMG_0118 copy
Halifax Harbour

IMG_3858
Halifax Harbour

IMG_3872
Halifax Harbour looking at Eastern Passage

IMG_0420
McNab’s Island

IMG_0362
McNab’s Island

IMG_3834
McNab’s Island

IMG_4283
Fisherman’s Cove, Eastern Passage

IMG_4291
Fisherman’s Cove, Eastern Passage

IMG_4276
Fisherman’s Cove, Eastern Passage

Leave a Reply

